BROTHERS IN education


Dr. James W. “Jim” Abbott (South Dakota)
Former president of the University of South Dakota
Dr. Martin Abegg (Bradley)
President emeritus of Bradley
Dr. John Stuart Allen (Colgate)
Former and first president of the University of South Florida
Dr. Norman R. Auburn (Cincinnati)
Former president of the University of Akron


Dr. Hugh C. Bailey (Samford)
Former president of Valdosta State University
Dr. Samuel Beatty (Toronto)
Former chancellor of the University of Toronto, first president of the Canadian Mathematical Society and served in that capacity for over 30 years
Dr. Daniel Luke Biemesderfer (Franklin & Marshall)
Former president of Millersville College


Dr. Lambuth McGeehee Clarke (Randolph-Macon)
Former president of Virginia Wesleyan
Dr. William Crouch (Wake Forest/Georgetown)
Former president of Georgetown College in Kentucky


Dr. James A. Davis (Randolph-Macon)
Former president of Shenandoah University


Dr. Frank N. Elliott (Alfred)
Former president of Rider College


Dr. Edward T. Foote (Yale/Miami-FL)
Former president of University of Miami
Dr. William C. Friday (North Carolina State)
First president of the University of North Carolina system


Dr. Paschal Clay Gaines (Washington State)
served as president of Montana State College on four separate occasions, professor and dean of faculty, with school for 43 years
Dr. Harold D. Germer (Denison)
Former President of Ottawa University


Dr. Earl Bruce Heilman (Peabody/North Carolina State)
Former president of the University of Richmond and Methodist College
Dr. Homer Lee Hitt (Louisiana State)
First chancellor at Louisiana State University at New Orleans


Dr. William Bay Irvine (Marietta)
Former president of Marietta College


Dr. Leo Warren Jenkins (East Carolina)
Former president and chancellor of East Carolina University
Dr. Warren Franklin Jones (Georgetown)
Former president of Campbellsville College
Dr. Arnold E. Joyal Sr. (California-Berkeley/Fresno State)
Former president of Fresno State College


Dr. George Kidd (Drexel)
Former president of Tiffin University
Dr. Maxwell King (Auburn)
Former president of Brevard Community College
Carl Martin Kuttler, Jr. (Florida State)
Former president of St. Petersburg College


Dr. Malcolm A. Love (Simpson)
Former president of the University of Nevada and San Diego State University


Dr. Richard E. McDowell (High Point)
Former president of the University of Pittsburgh at Bradford
Dr. Richard H. Mosier (Oklahoma State)
Former president of Marygrove College


Dr. Ben A. “Todd” Parnell III (Drury)
Former president of Drury University
Dr. Wendell M. Patton (Wofford)
Former president of High Point University


Dr. Thomas F. Schutte (Valparaiso)
Former president of Pratt Institute, Rhode Island School of Design and Philadelphia College of Art
Dr. John E. Shay, Jr. (Florida)
Former president of Marygrove College
Dr. Charles E. Smith (Tennessee)
Former chancellor of the Tennessee Board of Regents, former Tennessee Commissioner of Education, former executive director of the National Assessment Governing Board
Dr. Cluster Q. Smith (Southern Methodist)
Former president and chancellor of Oklahoma City University
Dr. Samuel Somerville Stratton (Dartmouth)
Former president of Middlebury College


Dr. Willis M. Tate (Southern Methodist)
Former president of Southern Methodist University
Dr. William E. Troutt (Union-TN)
Former president of Rhodes College, Belmont University, and chairman of the American Council on Education


Dr. Richard D. Valentine (Culver-Stockton)
Former president of Culver-Stockton College
Dr. Herman Viets (Polytechnic)
Former president of Milwaukee School of Engineering, COB of Astro-Med


Dr. Albert A. Watrel (Syracuse)
Former president of Slippery Rock and Dickinson State universities
Dr. W. Roger Webb (Oklahoma State)
Former president of Northeastern State University and Association of State Colleges and Universities
Dr. Benjamin T. Whitfield (Florida Southern)
First president of South Arkansas Community College
Dr. Clifford Oscar Titus Wieden (Colby)
First President of Aroostock State College
Dr. John Hepler Wood (Missouri/Culver-Stockton)
Former president of Culver-Stockton College


Dr. Donald W. Zacharias (Georgetown)
Former president of Mississippi State and Western Kentucky universities