Two Leaders from Higher Education Join Lambda Chi Alpha Board of Directors

Union University President Dr. Samuel W. “Dub” Oliver (Baylor 1987) and Auburn University’s Medical Director Dr. Frederick A. Kam Jr., MD (Miami-FL HON) have accepted two-year appointments to serve on the Lambda Chi Alpha Fraternity Board of Directors.

Effective immediately, Oliver will join the Board as the Grand High Epsilon and Kam will serve as the Grand High Rho.

In announcing these appointments, Board Chairman Jeff Stuerman (Culver-Stockton 1982) said: “We are very grateful and excited to have two men of this caliber join our Board. As we continue our strategic planning work, Dub and Fred will be excellent resources to help us re-envision how to deliver a premiere fraternal experience of service and leadership to our collegiate members. Looking ahead, partnering with our host institutions to support men’s overall health and wellness will be paramount.”

Union University President Dr. Samuel W. “Dub” Oliver 

Dr. Samuel W. “Dub” Oliver (Baylor 1987)

Oliver was elected as Union’s 16th president in 2014. Under his leadership, Union began and completed construction of The Logos, a new 54,000-square-foot library that opened in November 2015. He led Union in 2015 to adopt “United in Spirit. Grounded in Truth.” – a strategic plan to guide the work of the university over the next five years. The plan emphasizes seven strategic themes: bearing witness to the transforming power of the gospel of Jesus Christ, expanding enrollment across the university, enhancing operational effectiveness and efficiency to advance the mission, revising the liberal arts core curriculum, supporting meaningful research among faculty and students, developing leaders for the future and bolstering student life and building community. Also under Oliver’s leadership, Union launched the EDGE program for students with intellectual and developmental disabilities and collaborated with five other local educational institutions to start Mentor U, a mentoring program for area sixth graders. Oliver has also been active in the community, especially in the area of racial reconciliation. A native of San Antonio, Oliver completed a Bachelor of Science degree in education from Baylor University and a Master of Science degree in educational psychology and a Doctor of Philosophy in educational administration from Texas A&M. He previously served as president of East Texas Baptist University and in a variety of positions at Baylor, including director of student activities, associate dean for campus life, dean for student development and vice president for student life.

“I am deeply humbled by this call to serve on the Lambda Chi Alpha Board of Directors,” Oliver said. “I am hopeful and enthusiastic about working with the Board and determining new and better ways to expand our membership by providing more opportunities for young men to join this organization and grow from our Christian teachings.”

In addition to his Board appointment, Oliver is also a recent recipient of Lambda Chi Alpha’s Order of Achievement. On Feb. 23, the award was presented to him during the 60th anniversary celebration for Lambda Chi Alpha’s Lambda-Zeta chapter at Union. The Order of Achievement is given to alumni members who distinguished themselves by outstanding accomplishment in their chosen field and serve as a role model through their success and bring honor and respect to the Fraternity.

Auburn University Medical Director Dr. Frederick A. Kam Jr., MD

Dr. Frederick A. Kam Jr., MD (Miami-FL)

Kam is a physician and holds a Bachelor of Science in chemistry and graduated with his Medical Degree from the University of Miami in 1986. He has more than 33 years of experience in medical service delivery both at the University of Miami and Auburn University. Kam was chosen by his peers as one of the Best Doctors in America (1996-97,1997-98, 2003-04), and he is in Who’s Who in Medicine and Health Care. He is a member of Alpha Omega Alpha, Alpha Epsilon Delta, Mortar Board, Omicron Delta Kappa and Iron Arrow Honor Societies. He served as President of his medical school class, was voted as the Best House Staff Member of the Year (1988) and received the coveted Eric Reiss Award for Outstanding Teaching. He is also a recipient of the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award in 2012. He currently holds professorships at Auburn in the Department of Political Science, School of Nursing, and the School of Pharmacy.

“I am humbled, honored and grateful to have this opportunity,” Kam said. “As a health professional and Lambda Chi chapter advisor, I am daily on the front lines and very aware of the physical and mental health pressures on today’s undergraduate students. I hope to bring my voice to the Board to help advocate for more resources and education to  ensure our members have access to the services they need to be successful. Helping Lambda Chi to be the best fraternal experience is a passion of mine”

Kam has served as the chapter advisor for Lambda Chi Alpha’s Omega chapter at Auburn University for a total of twelve years and was voted the IFC’s Outstanding Fraternity Advisor of the Year five times over this period. In 2017, the IFC endowed a named scholarship in his honor at Auburn. In 2016, in honor of his dedicated service to the chapter, Kam received the Lambda Chi Alpha’s Order of Merit. This award recognizes those alumni members who give of themselves, particularly at the local chapter level.

Lambda Chi Alpha Board of Directors (Grand High Zeta)

Oliver and Kam join the rest of the Fraternity Board members listed below:

Jeffrey A. Stuerman (Culver-Stockton) — Grand High Alpha – Chairman

David M. Huffine (North Carolina-Greensboro) — Grand High Beta – Vice Chairman

Scott M. Jackson (Eastern Kentucky) — Grand High Gamma – secretary

Steve Pattison (Florida State) — Grand High Tau – Treasurer

Gregory A. Castanias (Wabash) — Grand High Pi – Chancellor

Lucas Lund (South Dakota) — Grand High Sigma

Lenard A. Bendo (Cal State-Sacramento) — Grand High Delta

Matthias Ebeyer (Indiana) — Grand High Theta

David D. Leathers (Cal State-Fresno) — Grand High Iota

Ian McFarland (North Texas) — Grand High Psi

Dr. Scott H. Reikofski (Northern Colorado) — Grand High Kappa

Colin Shearmire (Oregon State) — Grand High Nu

Dr. Timothy L. Tucker (Union) — Grand High Phi

You can learn more about these talented and dedicated brothers by visiting the management page of the Lambda Chi Alpha website.   Their service to our fraternity is appreciated.

Never miss a post! Subscribe to our email mailing list by clicking here.

Share To